Using the History panel

Using the History panel

The History panel keeps track of every step of your work in Dreamweaver. You can use the History panel to undo multiple steps at once.

To undo the last operation you performed in a document, select Edit > Undo, just as you would do in any other application. (The name of the Undo command changes in the Edit menu to reflect the last operation you performed.)

The History panel also lets you replay steps you’ve already performed and automate tasks by creating new commands. For more information, see Automating tasks.

To open the History panel:

  • Select Window > History.

To undo the last step:

  • Drag the History panel slider up one step in the list. This has the same effect as choosing Edit > Undo.

    The undone step turns gray.

To undo multiple steps at once, do one of the following:

  • Drag the slider to point to any step.
  • Click to the left of a step along the path of the slider; the slider scrolls automatically to that step, undoing steps as it scrolls.

As with undoing a single step, if you undo a series of steps and then do something new in the document, you can no longer redo the undone steps; they disappear from the History panel.

To set the number of steps that the History panel retains and shows:

  1. Select Edit > Preferences (Windows) or Dreamweaver > Preferences (Macintosh).
  2. Select General from the Category list on the left.
  3. Enter a number for Maximum Number of History Steps.

    The default value should be sufficient for most users’ needs. The higher the number, the more memory the History panel requires. This can affect performance and slow your computer down significantly. When the History panel reaches this maximum number of steps, the earliest steps are discarded.

To erase the history list for the current document:

  • In the History panel’s context menu, select Clear History.

    This command also clears all undo information for the current document; after choosing Clear History, you will be unable to undo the steps that are cleared. (Note that Clear History does not undo steps; it merely removes the record of those steps from Dreamweaver’s memory.)

Related topics

  • About the History panel


Getting Started with Dreamweaver
Dreamweaver Basics
Working with Dreamweaver Sites
Laying Out Pages
Adding Content to Pages
Inserting and Formatting Text
Adding Audio, Video, and Interactive Elements
Working with Page Code
Preparing to Build Dynamic Sites
Making Pages Dynamic
Developing Applications Rapidly
 
ASPTreeView.com
 
Evaluation has АСШЦГЦЦ»·Ъ№expired.
Info...