Logging out users

Logging out users

When a user logs in successfully, a session variable is created that consists of the user name. When the user leaves your site, you can use the Log Out User server behavior to clear the session variable and redirect the user to another page (usually a "goodbye" or "thank you" page).

You can invoke the Log Out User server behavior when the user clicks a link or when a specific page loads.

To add a link to let users log out:

  1. Select text or an image on a page to serve as the link.
  2. In the Server Behaviors panel (Window > Behaviors), click the Plus (+) button and select User Authentication > Log Out User.

    The Log Out User dialog box appears.

  3. Specify a page to open when the user clicks the link.

    The page is usually a "goodbye" or "thank you" page.

  4. Click OK.

To log out a user when a specific page loads:

  1. Open the page that will load in Dreamweaver.

    The page is usually a "goodbye" or "thank you" page.

  2. In the Server Behaviors panel, click the Plus (+) button and select User Authentication > Log Out User.

    The Log Out User dialog box appears.

  3. Select the Log Out When Page Loads option.
  4. Click OK.

Related topics

  • Building a page only authorized users can access


Getting Started with Dreamweaver
Dreamweaver Basics
Working with Dreamweaver Sites
Laying Out Pages
Adding Content to Pages
Working with Page Code
Preparing to Build Dynamic Sites
Making Pages Dynamic
Developing Applications Rapidly
Building ColdFusion Applications Rapidly
Reference
Building ASP.NET Applications Rapidly
Building ASP and JSP Applications Rapidly
 
ASPTreeView.com
 
Evaluation has СіёµЛБЙДКexpired.
Info...