Checking files into and out of a remote folder

Checking files into and out of a remote folder

After you set up the Check In/Check Out system (see Setting up the Check In/Check Out system), you can check in and check out files on a remote server using the Files panel or from the Document window.

To check out files using the Files panel:

  1. In the Files panel (Window > Files), select files to check out from the remote server.

    A red check mark indicates that another team member has the file checked out and a lock symbol indicates that the file is read-only (Windows) or locked (Macintosh).

  2. Do one of the following to check out the file(s):
    • Click the Check Out button in the Files panel toolbar.
    • Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Macintosh), then select Check Out from the context menu.

    The Dependent Files dialog box appears.

  3. Click Yes to download dependent files along with the selected files, or click No to refrain from downloading dependent files.

    A green check mark appears beside the local file’s icon indicating that you have checked it out.

To check in files using the Files panel:

  1. In the Files panel (Window > Files), select checked-out or new file(s).
  2. Do one of the following to check in the file(s):
    • Click the Check In button in the Files panel toolbar.
    • Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Macintosh), then select Check In from the context menu.

    The Dependent Files dialog box appears.

  3. Click Yes to download dependent files along with the selected files, or click No to refrain from downloading dependent files.

    A lock symbol appears beside the local file’s icon indicating that the file is now read-only.

To check in or check out an open file from the Document window:

  1. Make sure the file you want to check in or out is active in the Document window.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • Select Site > Check In or Site > Check Out.
    • Click the File Management icon in the Document window toolbar, then select Check In or Check Out from the pop-up menu.

If you check out the currently active file, the currently open version of the file is overwritten by the new checked-out version. If you check in the currently active file, the file may be automatically saved before it’s checked in, depending on the preference options you’ve set (see Setting preferences for the Files panel).

Related topics

  • About the Check In/Check Out system
  • Setting up the Check In/Check Out system
  • Undoing a file check-out


Getting Started with Dreamweaver
Dreamweaver Basics
Working with Dreamweaver Sites
Managing Your Files
Laying Out Pages
Adding Content to Pages
Working with Page Code
Preparing to Build Dynamic Sites
Making Pages Dynamic
Developing Applications Rapidly
 
ASPTreeView.com
 
Evaluation has їґЅexpired.
Info...