What's in This Book?

This book consists of 15 chapters and an appendix. Here is a brief overview of each chapter:

Chapter 1

This chapter sets the stage for the book by providing an introduction to Windows Server 2003.

Chapter 2

This chapter covers basic computer security concepts, including cryptography and fundamental practices for security administrators.

Chapter 3

This chapter covers various aspects of physical security, which is essential for any data security to succeed.

Chapter 4

This chapter is all about securing files with Encrypting File System and other file-oriented technologies.

Chapter 5

This chapter focuses on using Group Policy as a security tool and utilizing Security Templates.

Chapter 6

This chapter discusses ways you can protect against running bad applications.

Chapter 7

This chapter covers the various authentication protocols supported by Windows Server 2003, including Kerberos.

Chapter 8

This chapter examines IP Security and its proper deployment to secure network communication.

Chapter 9

This chapter is an exhaustive examination of PKI and certificate-based cryptography.

Chapter 10

This chapter covers smart card technologies and their proper deployment.

Chapter 11

This chapter focuses on the grotesque lack of security in DHCP and DNS technologies and how you can try to shore them up.

Chapter 12

This chapter covers Internet Information Services security, or the lack thereof.

Chapter 13

This chapter examines Active Directory design and operation from a security standpoint, including proper planning and deployment, as well as securing data between domain controllers.

Chapter 14

This chapter covers the security features of Remote Access, including dial-up and VPN connectivity.

Chapter 15

This chapter covers additional topics such as administrative security, patch management, and auditing.

Appendix, Sending Secure Email

This appendix covers topics relating to secure email.