Closing a Database



To close an open database, click the Close button in the upper-right corner of the database window.


The database window and database are closed.


When you are finished working with a database, you can close it. Doing so frees up memory for other programs you may have open. Keep in mind that you can close a database, but still keep Access open. A database window has its own Close button.


Saving Your Work

Access is different from other Office applications, in that you will not automatically be asked whether you want to save data entered in a database when you close it; that data will be saved by default. The only time you are prompted to save your work upon closing a database is when structural changes, such as the creation of an object, have been made to that database.