Q&A

Q1:

Several of my co-workers and I opened the same workbook file at the same time. Why couldn't we see each other's changes?

A1:

When more than one person opens the same file, the file is opened in read-only format by all but the first person who opened it. In effect, the read-only files are copies of the file. Changes made to the read-only copies cannot be saved to the same filename as the original file.

Q2:

I created an Excel file in the office. The filename appeared on the list of the last four files I opened, but Excel couldn't open it when I took my laptop home. Why?

A2:

If you save a file on a network drive, you must be logged in or connected to the network to open it. To work at home, you need to save a copy of the file to a floppy disk. You can copy the file to your local hard drive from the disk. Then you can open the file locally.

Q3:

I deleted a worksheet that I thought was meaningless, and now some of the other worksheets are showing up with funny characters. What's wrong?

A3:

You have a big problem! The cells in the worksheet you deleted were referenced in other worksheets. Unfortunately, when you delete a worksheet, it's gone for good. If you're working on a network, ask your network administrator whether you can retrieve an older copy of the file from the network backup.



    Part I: Excel Basics
     
    ASPTreeView.com
     
    Evaluation has єЪЕіДѕСexpired.
    Info...