Deleting a Message



In the Inbox (or any other folder), click the message you want to delete. (Alternatively, open the message.)


The message is removed from the Inbox and placed in the Deleted Items folder.


To keep your mail folders, especially your Inbox, organized, you should delete any messages you do not need. When you delete a message, it is moved from the Inbox to the Deleted Items folder. You can undelete a message if needed (see the next task).


Permanently Deleting Messages

To permanently delete a message, open the Deleted Items folder and click the message to select it. Click the Delete button in the Outlook window's main toolbar; when prompted to confirm the permanent deletion, click Yes.