Deleting, moving, or renaming a remote file in a Contribute site
Deleting a file from the remote server that hosts a Contribute site works much like deleting a file from the server for any Dreamweaver site. However, when you delete a file from a Contribute site, Dreamweaver asks whether to delete all older versions of the file. If you choose to keep the older versions, Dreamweaver saves a copy of the current version as well so you can restore it later.
Renaming a remote file or moving it from one folder to another in a Contribute site works the same way it works in any Dreamweaver site. In a Contribute site, Dreamweaver also renames or moves the associated previous versions of the file that are saved in the _baks folder.
To delete a remote file:
- Select the file in the Remote pane of the Files panel (Window > Files), and then press Backspace (Windows) or Delete (Macintosh).
A dialog box appears asking you to confirm that you want to delete the file.
- If the Delete Rollback Versions option appears in the confirmation dialog box, do one of the following:
- To delete all previous versions of the file as well as the current version, select the Delete Rollback Versions option.
- To leave previous versions on the server, deselect the Delete Rollback Versions option.
- Click Yes to delete the file.
The file is deleted. If you chose to delete previous versions, they are deleted as well. If you chose not to delete previous versions, a copy of the current version is saved in the _baks folder as a new revision of the file.
- Enabling Contribute users to access templates without root folder access
- Unlocking a file in a Contribute site