About the Check In/Check Out system

About the Check In/Check Out system

If you’re working in a collaborative environment, you can check files in and out from local and remote servers.

Checking out a file is the equivalent of declaring "I’m working on this file now--don’t touch it!" When a file is checked out, Dreamweaver displays the name of the person who checked out the file in the Files panel, along with a red check mark (if a team member checked out the file) or green check mark (if you checked out the file) next to the file’s icon.

Checking in a file makes the file available for other team members to check out and edit. When you check in a file after editing it, your local version becomes read-only and a lock symbol appears beside the file in the Files panel to prevent you from making changes to the file.

Dreamweaver does not make checked-out files read-only on the remote server. If you transfer files with an application other than Dreamweaver, you can overwrite checked-out files. However, in applications other than Dreamweaver, the LCK file is visible next to the checked-out file in the file hierarchy to help prevent such accidents.

For more information on LCK files and how the Check In/Check Out system works, see TechNote 15447 on the Macromedia website at www.macromedia.com/go/15447.

Related topics

  • Setting up the Check In/Check Out system
  • Checking files into and out of a remote folder

Getting Started with Dreamweaver
Dreamweaver Basics
Working with Dreamweaver Sites
Managing Your Files
Laying Out Pages
Adding Content to Pages
Working with Page Code
Preparing to Build Dynamic Sites
Making Pages Dynamic
Developing Applications Rapidly